Cashette: Who are they?

I run one forum about Gardening care. It is a quiet little forum with just a few active members.I’ve dealt daily with spam registrations from people wanting a link back to their spammy site, but recently I’ve found a new type of spam registration.

They are all innocent enough looking. The user sets up their registration normally – with no link to any website – and I think “great, a new user, maybe this site is going to start getting busier”. Then the user never posts anything once I have approved them.

So when I go back through the email addresses, I find that a large number of the people who I thought were legit are actually using email addresses @cashette.com

Until now I have been unaware of Cashette.com but on investigation it seems to be a place where you can set up an email address and if you happen to get any spam through on it, they will pay you some money. In theory, that’s great – you can get an email address where they virtually guarantee no spam, and if it does get through they pay you for it.

But then the dark side of the web hears about it and people try as hard as they can to get spam to their Cashette email address. Which means leaving their email address everywhere they possibly can in the hope that spam bots will get some spam through to them.

Luckily, once you know about it it is pretty easy to ban email addresses from a certain domain (well, it is in PHPBB) so I shouldn’t see any more of them now that I know about it.

These people must think they are being very clever, manipulating the system and all that. But honestly, it’s like leaving litter in the street. Stop it.

“Text taken from: http://www.adamchristie.co.uk/, I’ve just modified the Forum name and link, because the text just fits on my issue, so I wanted to scream to the world that This cashette site must be closed!”

~ by trilochankaur on February 10, 2007.

One Response to “Cashette: Who are they?”

  1. Why do do you complain about spammer. I mean, your gardening.com does not have any members, but is only a parked domain full of advertisement. Excactly the webpages which really get on everybodys nerves.

Leave a Reply